h1

Preach it

August 11, 2008

My vagina gets lonely.

Misery loves company, eh?  So lets see how well the Hovarys keep up with the Joneses.

The Kinsey Institute has a helpful FAQ page for the curious among us.  I’d always thought national sex statistics were kind of depressing:

“18-29 year olds have sex an average of 112 times per year, 30-39 year olds an average of 86 times per year, and 40-49 year olds an average of 69 times per year” (Piccinino, Mosher, 1998).

Studies and anecdotal data indicate folks my age fuck twice a week, and it just goes downhill from there.  I always assumed tons of college kids were having tons of sex, as commonly depicted in mass media, but it seems a lot of folks spend most nights alone.

I don’t suppose I’m special, but I totally want a lifetime of great sex.  And I’m ambitious and pushy enough to try.

But I am on par with the Joneses.  Obviously I’d like my fucks per week index to inch upward, but early bedtimes and a commute to the BF are prohibitive.

But in three weeks, BF will move to an apartment three-quarters of a mile up the road.  And he’ll have his own room.  If I have my way, he won’t be able to walk in the morning.  I’m really excited.

I also like this statistic on kink: “55% of females and 50% of males reported having responded erotically to being bitten” (Kinsey, Martin, Gebhard, 1953).

This suggests a good half of us enjoy at least moderate amounts of pain (assuming that wasn’t a shark bite).  And yet, so many people seem shocked by kinky sex.

Well soldiers, keep fighting the good fight.  Spread that free love gospel.

Leave a Reply

